Fall

I was walking down the street coming back from work today, when I was suddenly struck with a little bit of nostalgia. “It’s Fall”, I thought. For the 18 and a half years of my life, whenever I’ve seen that scene with the reddish blue sky and the falling leaves, I’ve felt one certain way. I don’t know how to describe it, but if I would try, it would be something between familiarity, annoyance and nostalgia.

Fall is the time of the year that comes after the usually cheerful and long awaited Summer and is precedent to Winter, that really cold time of the year that most big furry animals hibernate through. I’m not furry, nor big, so I guess I’ll just grow 19 in the meantime. Back to Fall. Fall is the time of the year when leaves fly away, Fall is the time of the year that most things die to revive in Spring, it’s the time of the year that most blockbuster games fall on our heads (no pun intended) and blow the brains out so we fall back in line for next year. It’s the time of the year when most schoolgoers have to meet their dooms and grooms again. It’s also the time of the year that the characters in “Requiem for a Dream” see the effects of the down-turn as everything makes a slow descent to hell.

Reminds you of anything?

Reminds you of anything?

As I notified by twitter a few days ago, I’ve seen that movie recently, and I can say that I enjoyed it. I’m not a movie guy – if it’s a nice enough B movie, I’ll like it – but in this case, I really liked the movie. I would’ve loved it if not for the tragedy throughout. What struck me as saddest in this flick was the fact that each and every forsaken character had good intentions, each of which was handled badly, so much so that it made them lose their lives (not literally). If you haven’t seen the film, it’s about 4 people: Sara Goldfarb, her son Harry, his girlfriend Marion and his best friend Tyrone, each of which gets addicted to various drugs that would eventually bring their ambitious lives to a ruin. Sara succumbs to madness by means of excess diet pills, Harry gets his arm amputated because of heroin injection infection, Tyrone gets in jail for dealing drugs and Marion loses her honor to prostitution and orgies in order to get her fix.

It’s all effed up to hell, mind you. Seeing the movie gives you a sense of rooting with the 4 so-called players in the game we call life. It’s the fact that they cheated, that they used drugs in order to cope, that brought them to lose the score they had amassed. It’s like working 20 years for a car that would be ruined the first day you drive it, ruining you along the way.

Don't try this at home.

Don't try this at home.

The way it’s made however makes up for the depression. As Wednesday_Shadow has said in her blog post here (it’s in Romanian, use Google Translate for a rough translation), it has many techniques and recurring themes that don’t appear in most other movies. The whole action is laid out on a soundtrack that cycles itself throughout the film – you might know the song, it’s currently overused on Youtube Videos. That music is almost hypnotic, and the effect it produces along with the fast moving imagery of drug use or quick transitions, it gives more of an impression of action.

It’s hard to find a person that hasn’t seen this film yet, but I recommend it to all those who haven’t. It’s a great flick, and if you’re taking drugs, this should scare you enough to leave them (although you won’t, as the movie shows).

Leave a Reply

