Daily Picture (No. 12): Spitfire Study

spitfire-blueprint

After watching a ton of tutorials online and whatnot, I’ve taken the fact that looking at a reference and truly understanding how it works (the shapes underneath and how it’s constructed) will help my drawing a lot more than simply drawing whatever comes to mind and trying to make it work. It’s true – doing this study has helped me pick figure out how to imagine an object being spun around in my mind and trying to reconstruct it in the medium I’m working with. This is the original reference after which I’ve taken the shape of what I’ve drawn. I’ve still got some trouble with scaling stuff, but it’s slowly getting there.

Also, the Spitfire is my overall favourite plane design. The BF109 comes close, but the Spitfire is just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

