Daily Picture (No. 34): Crossed Swords

Gladius

Making the sparks was rather fun

Making the sparks was rather fun

Add some gems for effect

Add some gems for effect

I believe I made these back in 2007. Eight… (EIGHT!!!) years ago. Geez. I’ve always liked drawing swords, and the way I make these doesn’t really require any tools (except for Photoshop). Just make a grey shape, select half of it and shade it differently and BAM, you have a blade.

It is a pretty good way to learn about lighting, which is something I didn’t really get when I was 16, considering the sword on the right is a straight up copy-pasta of the left one, complete with lighting. Also, the sparks don’t really seem to generate any light by themselves. I still think they look mighty fine and still hold up. I don’t know if I could make sparks that looked better than those now.

Leave a Reply

